I'm after a darker roast

Tell us about your experience, ask if you're unsure of something, let us know if you have a problem.
Craig

I'm after a darker roast

Post by Craig »

I'm new to roasting and I'm trying to get a roast as dark as the Jeds #5 or #4 I usually use.
The beans I'm using are suitable for espresso and I'm using level 5.9 but the results are more like med-light - not shiny, not very dark and no oil.
Do I try different beans or should I try creating a new profile? Would roasting a smaller batch help?
I'd like to achieve a darker roast with the minimum trial and error as I'm starting to get the caffeine shakes.
kaffelogic
Site Admin

Re: I'm after a darker roast

Post by kaffelogic »

The default profile should start showing oil on the bean surface by level 4, so I'm not sure why you are not getting any when you push it to 5.9. Can you post a log file to help me see exactly what is going on in your roaster? Also let me know what beans you are using - that will help me replicate the problem for diagnosis.
Craig

Post by Craig »

Hi
I have tried "Euro Espresso" and "Riviera Blend" from here: http://homebaristashop.co.nz/shop/1kg-g ... an-blends/

I have attached a log from this morning - 100g of Riviera at L5.9 results look similar to the previous roasts which were Euro Espresso

I've also attached a photo of the Riviera roast at L5.9 and some Jeds #4 and #5 (mixed)

Thanks
Attachments
20190207_104344 (3).jpg
20190207_104344 (3).jpg (61.19 KiB) Viewed 6410 times
log0001.klog
(77.95 KiB) Downloaded 260 times
kaffelogic
Site Admin

Post by kaffelogic »