Huehuetenango shb ep keeps overshooting profile after CC

Tell us about your experience, ask if you're unsure of something, let us know if you have a problem.
stever

Huehuetenango shb ep keeps overshooting profile after CC

Post by stever »

To start, I'm quite new to roasting so forgive my potentially fundmental questions...

Logs (I hope I attached the images correctly) show overshoot (diverge and proceed with an offset) after CC.

All roasts L 3.0. 'default' and '15002000' (for file/image) refer to the profiles. If the image attachment works, then I'll also note that I manually dropped the REST1500 roast because it was already quite hot. I have to empty the chaff collector after every roast.

These are the 4th and 5th roasts with these beans, and all previous behaved the same. Tasting notes: still grassy (underdeveloped?) but also a bit of smokiness/ash (overdeveloped?). Even after resting for a 7~10 days, there is little 'coffee' smell, and a slight scent of ash; i.e. very mild smell.

How do I address the overshoots in the roast? Could that be causing the unbalanced flavour?

Thank you in advance for any questions/suggestions!
Attachments
log0011_15002000_L3_manualDrop.png
log0011_15002000_L3_manualDrop.png (49.86 KiB) Viewed 199 times
log0012_default_L3.png
log0012_default_L3.png (48.09 KiB) Viewed 199 times
Mikk

Re: Huehuetenango shb ep keeps overshooting profile after CC

Post by Mikk »

I’ve been hoping somebody might have some more info regarding your issue, as I have a similar issue that most resembles your first pic.

My Nano is an older (USB stick) model, and tends to overshoot from FC onwards on most profiles, and stays 1-4 degrees above the actual profile until the roast ends. Interestingly, I also have a newer (USB-C plug) Nano here temporarily, and with the same beans/profiles there’s no overshoot at all.

Both Nano’s have the latest firmware, are used in the same location.