Hay/grass aroma

Mo Helu

Hay/grass aroma

Post by Mo Helu »

Hi guys/gals

Newbie here so please go easy on me :)

Coming from an air/popcorn popper with superficial knowledge of the whole process

I recently got the Nano and with high hopes I thought I should start with the most basic approach. I.e. load the beans, choose a profile and let it do its thing. This how I like to learn, basics first.

I like (light to medium/medium) roasts for espresso - mostly milk based drinks

So, I loaded the measuring cup to it's brim (<120gm), into the roasting chamber they go.
Multiple attempts and chose different profiles for two different kinds of beans (Indonesian and Nicaraguan). I also used the KL Classic profile for a blend of green Ethiopian beans (-- as I said, go easy on me :p).

The problem, with ALL attempts, I am getting hay/grass aroma. This has persisted even after letting them rest for few days. It is borderline unpleasant and I would not have brewed them but I ran out of my old batch. I used to achieve very reasonable uniform roast and hint of pleasant acidity (with the Ethiopian blend) even mixed with milk. Now, it is un-inspiring and just coffee, if you know what I mean.

I looked online and apparently it is to do with the beans being baked as opposed to being roasted. Or lack of development. Forgive my ignorance, does it mean that the beans are not heating quickly enough?. Yet, the FC for most attempts comes around 5 min or thereabout. In the ballpark of my old hot air roaster.

Keen for some feedback please.
I am sure that the Nano can do better than this and it is an operator (me) issue.

Cheers
Mo
Attachments
log0008.klog
(76.49 KiB) Downloaded 243 times
log0007.klog
(72.8 KiB) Downloaded 223 times
log0006.klog
(76.7 KiB) Downloaded 297 times
log0005.klog
(73.47 KiB) Downloaded 215 times
log0004.klog
(71.62 KiB) Downloaded 218 times
log0002.klog
(75.73 KiB) Downloaded 236 times
log0001.klog
(69.94 KiB) Downloaded 238 times
nrdlnd

Re: Hay/grass aroma