Raost

Start a new topic for a new roast profile. Reply to an existing topic to enter your comments on the profile, or to attach minor variants.
benjaminfleon

Raost

Post by benjaminfleon »

Hey everybody! First time posting here. I've been roasting on the Kaffelogic for a couple of months and been a member of the forum for about a week.

I've been having great results with this particular profile, works great for medium to high density washed coffees; the one I'm roasting right now is an Ethiopia from Sidamo provided by MareTerra. I'm uploading two versions: the "original" and the one I optimized for this particular coffee.
Raost.kpro
(2.15 KiB) Downloaded 748 times
Raost Sidamo.kpro
(2.33 KiB) Downloaded 616 times
This profile is basically me trying to apply the concepts from Scott Rao's books on roasting as simply as possible (hence the name). Ideally, use it for 100.0 gram batches. The best results for my particular palate (bright, juicy, sweet coffee with lots of clarity and balance at high extractions, but not a lot of texture) were between 1.6 and 1.7, but feel free to try other levels.

FC is around the 5 min mark, and you get about 27% DTR at 1.7 (219.9 ºC).

Also, I might add that I've been experimenting with the method for rehydrating coffee proposed by Christopher Feran in his blog <https://christopherferan.com/2021/03/15 ... -protocol/>.
1.png
1.png (103.32 KiB) Viewed 13241 times
2.png
2.png (92.12 KiB) Viewed 13241 times