Ninja Turtle

Start a new topic for a new roast profile. Reply to an existing topic to enter your comments on the profile, or to attach minor variants.
kaffelogic
Site Admin

Ninja Turtle

Post by kaffelogic »

This is a version of the Ninja profile that slows down after it reaches 185 deg C to stretch out development and improve complexity. A very versatile profile that features a 'ninja kick' at the start with a medium slow down after first crack. Good for dense beans, but also suits some low density beans particularly well.
ninjaturtle.kpro
(2.09 KiB) Downloaded 912 times
mr. bean

Re: Ninja Turtle

Post by mr. bean »

Hi, I'm very new to the Kaffelogic, so yet to actually try these uploaded profiles. Just having a look around at what's available and how to use the software etc.
With the Ninja Turtle, the slow down after less than a minute and then picking up after 2 minutes appears to make the rate of rise drop very sharply then increase again, before decreasing. My memory of Scott Rao's 'rules' of roasting was to never make the rate of rise increase during a roast. Is that an issue here, or am I missing something? (Or just not remembering Roa's rules!?)
Cheers, matt
kaffelogic
Site Admin

Post by kaffelogic »

mr. bean wrote: Tue 24 Mar, 2020 5:06 pm Hi, I'm very new to the Kaffelogic, so yet to actually try these uploaded profiles. Just having a look around at what's available and how to use the software etc.
With the Ninja Turtle, the slow down after less than a minute and then picking up after 2 minutes appears to make the rate of rise drop very sharply then increase again, before decreasing. My memory of Scott Rao's 'rules' of roasting was to never make the rate of rise increase during a roast. Is that an issue here, or am I missing something? (Or just not remembering Roa's rules!?)
Cheers, matt